Home > Uncategorized > My very first batch of PCBs from BatchPCB!!

My very first batch of PCBs from BatchPCB!!

I’ve recently been moving towards prototyping with surface mount components. Kinsten brand presensitized PCBs was my first choice. I did a lot of trials but the results were never really satisfactory. Maybe I was just being too particular. The PCBs that turned out should be functional, except they weren’t aesthetically pleasing.

So, after nearly exhausting my stock of presensitized boards, I decided it was time to turn to BatchPCB. From submitting my designs to receiving my PCBs was rather quick really, only about 3 weeks. I guess I got lucky. Check out some pictures I took of the PCBs after the break.

PICkit 2 Clone

First up, my new PICkit 2 clone. Schematics are from MCU Hobby. I made a new one because I gave my old one to my brother.

3.3V DC-DC Boost Regulator

Next is a 3.3V DC-DC boost regulator. This one is actually a pretty tiny board. I should have taken a picture with a ruler for scale. Anyways, it only measures 1.2″ x 0.9″.

Latches for 8x8 RGB LED matrix

Last one is a board with four tri-state latch ICs for addressing the rows and columns of an RGB LED matrix display. This board was rushed and in hindsight I should have opted for serial shift registers with constant current outputs instead.

I only ordered 1 of each design, but got 2 of each. The extras are imperfect though. But, the defects appear to be cosmetic at worst, so it was quite a nice bonus in case I screw up or need another copy.

Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 1, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

